The Iowan
looking for something?

Lost Linn County

Lost Linn County by Linda Betsinger McCann
Magnifier IconClick Image to Zoom
SKU: 900IAB035

by Linda Betsinger McCann

See the latest in the “Lost Counties of Iowa” series... Explore the history of Linn County, Iowa with us!

Over 200 named locations are detailed in this book.

From sites that had post offices, such as Palisades or Rural; to first names of towns, such as Columbus for Cedar Rapids or Brown for Springville; or spelling
changes such as Prairiesburg or Priarieburgh; to nicknames such as Pin Hook for Mt. Vernon or Grove City for Marion; to named landmarks such as Buck Horn Grove or Katieville; all are included in this book.

Did you know there were two La Fayette’s in Linn County at the same time? Or that there was a village by the name of Mondieu and that it had a post office?

These and more have been researched by author Linda Betsinger McCann. This is a great book to carry in your car as you travel around Linn County, Iowa. How many sites can you locate?

Part of the Lost County series including Lost Bremer County, Lost Butler County, Lost Black Hawk County, and the new Lost Cedar County.

Proudly written, printed and published in Iowa.

Published by Iowan Books.
ISBN 9781934816370.

Wholesale Orders are encouraged! Please call 877-899-9977 in the US, or 515-246-0402 in Canada for discount pricing.
Related Products
The Cedar Valley by Linda Betsinger McCann

by Linda Betsinger McCann

Lost Bremer County by Linda Betsinger McCann

by Linda Betsinger McCann

Lost Black Hawk County by Linda Betsinger McCann

by Linda Betsinger McCann

Lost Cedar County by Linda Betsinger McCann

NEW! 10/1/2013
by Linda Betsinger McCann

Lost Franklin & Grundy Counties by Linda McCann

NEW! 1/1/2015
by Linda Betsinger McCann

All content © 2015 The Iowan/Pioneer Communications, Inc., and may not be used, reproduced, or altered in any way without prior written permission.